40E Bail Bondsmen
Course Time: 40 Hours
To register in the state of Virginia as a Bail Bondsman, you must meet the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice guidelines, satisfactorily complete the 40E course (07E/08E-Handgun/Shotgun. Training is optional) with a grade of 70% or greater for 40E, and 75% or greater for 07E/08E and submit the appropriate Virginia DCJS fees and forms which will be explained during the administration portion of the course.
Armed bail bondsmen also need to complete additional 14 hours for 07E Handgun Training.
- General law-terminology
- Surety and Property Law
- Release from Legal Obligation
- Fugitive Recovery
40I Bail bondsman In-Service
Course Time: 8 Hours
Bail Bondsman In-Service training must be completed every 24 months, prior to expiration.
As with the entry level course, all appropriate Virginia DCJS forms and fees must be submitted to successfully re-qualify as a Bail Bondsman.